Day 8: Your favorite instructor

Oooooh this is a tough one! In terms of people who’ve helped me the most lately, definitely Peter and Naomi.

This is both because they’re great dancers and great teachers (amazing at managing different levels in the same track, and at giving lots of people individual attention, as well as pinpointing exactly what people need to hear to fix their dancing), but also because they’re the instructors that I’ve gotten the most one-on-one time with. (Not that it was a ton… but I’ve never been able to take private lessons or anything, and at their workshop here in town they both took the time to give me personal critique that helped my dancing so much!)

At Camp Jitterbug, I really loved Frida Borg and Pontus Persson’s classes. They were just FUN; fun moves, something of a different feel, and lots of energy. They’re totally sweet people too! I really enjoyed their perspective. Whether it felt different because it was more Swedish, or because they’re both so young for how amazing they are, I don’t know. But it was fun.

Bear in mind that Pontus is 20 years old there…

Skye and Frida’s classes at CJ were definitely as awesome as I expected them to be (really great fundamentals, and  also cool moves), and they were even more fun than I thought they would be. Skye seems like he’s just about the nicest person IN THE WORLD; and even though the classes were often huge, they were also great at giving everyone there a great lesson.

But on the other hand, there are all my local teachers, who have really done the nuts and bolts of teaching me how to dance. My friends who I play around with and teach classes with… and they’re all my favorites. Bradley, Andrea, Aaron, and everyone: it’s been a great few years!

NOTE: I got a little behind last week on this challenge, but I’ve decided to not care when that happens. I’ll just pick it up when I have time, like now!

  1. No trackbacks yet.

Leave a Reply

